bloggers · blogging · book review · Books · literature · Recommendations · Reviews · thoughts

Miracle Creek by Angie Kim

I was sent this book through NetGalley to review, thanks to the team at Farrar, Straus and Giroux and Sarah Crichton Books for sending me a copy – I thoroughly enjoyed it!

9780374156022

 

Title: Miracle Creek

Author: Angie Kim

Genre: General Fiction (Adult)

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Publication date: 16th April 2019

Plot Overview:

In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine—a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic “dives” with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos’ small community.

Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night—trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges—as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.

5a28b5fa5c3d44.7421188815126174663778

My Thoughts:

  • The story was gripping right from the start, I honestly can’t remember the last time I read a thriller or crime novel and was this invested from page one. I mean, the first line alone hooks you in!

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn’t even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . .

  • The book centres around the explosion which results in the death of a number of patients seeking treatment in the ‘Miracle Submarine’. Due to the suspicious nature of the explosion, everyone becomes a suspect, but the leading suspect is Elizabeth, the mother of a child with Autism, named Henry, one of the boys who tragically died. The novel follows the court proceedings and jumps backwards and forwards in time to unravel what really happened.
  • As part of their efforts to establish themselves and send their daughter Mary to college, Pak and Young create the ‘Miracle Submarine’, which offers HBOT (Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy) to a variety of patients, some of which suffer from Autism, Infertility as well as Cerebral Palsy. I had no idea what this therapy was before reading this book, but it’s certainly a very interesting idea.
  • The novel deals with Autism, and explores the stigma that individuals with Autism face. It also goes into what parents or caregivers of children with Autism experience and the effects that has on them emotionally. It’s really touching to read how the parents in the novel devote themselves so entirely to their children and how hard they fight for them.
  • The suspense and the ‘who dunnit’ was so well executed, with the perfect amount of back and forth between different characters. Just like in the court procedure, we as readers get to act as jurors and make our own judgement on these characters.
  • I really enjoyed reading through all the different characters perspectives, sometimes this can be confusing but in this book, I think Angie Kim does an amazing job of switching between them and making them well developed and interesting.
  • Some of favourite characters would have to be the Yoo family; Pak, Young and Mary. They are a South Korean immigrant family who have a tenuous relationship and  are adjusting to life in the states. You get to read through each of their eyes, read about their hopes, struggles and disappointments and I really felt for each of them. While the novel is primarily a murder mystery, this portrayal of the Asian immigrant experience is also very interesting to read.
  • The conclusion / ending was PERFECT. Now I’m not a person who throws that word around lightly when it comes to endings but the way it all unfolded was so true to life. It wasn’t all neatly tied up and every action had a consequence, in some cases, some irreversible ones. I cried when I came to the end as I was so emotionally invested, I wish there was more but I believe Miracle Creek ended very fittingly.

Overall, this book is definitely one of my favourites of the year and I am a huge fan of Angie Kims writing. I will definitely be keeping a lookout for what she writes next because she is a truly gifted and special writer.

★★★★★ – 5 Star Rating

Are you a fan of mystery / crime novels? Does Miracle Creek sound like the type of book you’d be interested in? Would love to have a chat in the comments!

Until next time,

Rumaanah x

5a28b5fa5c3d44.7421188815126174663778

21 thoughts on “Miracle Creek by Angie Kim

  1. I LOVE it when my two favorite genre’s thriller and crime come together – it sounds like this has so much suspense. I’m definitely adding this to my goodreads want to read list. The last book I read that dealt with detectives etc. was The Cuckoo’s Calling. I also really like it when books dive straight into the plot, as seen from the first sentence you included, instead fluffing in the beginning and getting into the plot 30 pages in! Right when I finish the book I’m reading, definitely going to dive right into this one!

    Sahara
    http://saharas-dreams.blogspot.com

    1. Likewise! I love a good crime thriller and this book certainly delivered on that front as well as being really moving. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! Thanks for sharing such a great comment + would love to hear your thoughts on it one day x

  2. This sounds REALLY interesting and I love the concept of the Miracle Submarine! You always review such intriguing sounding books that I’ve never heard of before! I thoroughly enjoy your reviews 🙂 xxx

    1. It was honestly such a great read! I think you’d really enjoy it so I would really recommend it for you ☺️ + thank you so much! I really appreciate that, you’re the sweetest xx

  3. This sounds like such a gripping read! Now I’m curious as to what caused the explosion on the Miracle Submarine. It sounds like the book covers a lot of important topics and it’s good that it’s all true to life. Fab review, I love how you have listed your thoughts in bullet points too, very easy to read. Thank you for sharing ❤ xx

    Bexa | http://www.hellobexa.com

  4. It sounds really awesome, When you mentioned the first line, I totally understand why it hooks you in.
    I haven’t read this kind of genre in a while but this one it’s definitely going on my TBR pile.
    Thanks for the review.

    Denisse @ http://www.adultingaround.com

  5. Oh I’m constantly on the hunt for gripping crime/mysteries and this one sounds perfect. I’ve read a lot of books lately as well with alternating/multiple character perspectives, and some are carried out better than others so I’d be interested to see how well it’s done in this book! Definitely going to add it to my endless TBR list haha, thanks for sharing! X

    Evie x | https://eviejayne.co.uk

    1. This book is honestly soo well done in terms of the multiple perspectives! I agree with you as sometimes it’s not as well done and it can really ruin an otherwise good read. I hope you manage to get round to reading this one day as it’s so good, tell me about it with the endless TBR list though! I have so many haha x

  6. Oh man, this book sounds like something else considering how a couple tried to help people but end up going in a different direction. Glad you enjoyed the book. Thanks for sharing your thoughts~

    Nancy ♥ exquisitely.me

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.